Media Appearances, Reviews

More with the Mikes!

It was a packed episode for Christmas: I reviewed Carol, Joy, The Hateful Eight, & The Big Short

Media Appearances, Reviews

Behind the Mikes

I had fun reviewing In the Heart of the Sea and Sisters. Also…you know…


We have winners!

The Kansas City Film Critics Circle held its 50th annual awards meeting on December 20th, 2015. Here are the winners of the James Loutzenhiser Awards for the best of 2015:

Best Picture: Mad Max: Fury Road

Robert Altman Award for Best Director: George Miller, Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Actor: Leonardo DiCaprio, The Revenant

Best Actress: Charlize Theron, Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Supporting Actor: Michael Shannon, 99 Homes

Best Supporting Actress: Alicia Vikander, Ex Machina

Best Original Screenplay: Josh Singer & Tom McCarthy, Spotlight

Best Adapted Screenplay: Charles Randolph & Adam McKay, The Big Short

Best Animated Film: Inside Out

Best Foreign Language Film: Phoenix (Germany)

Best Documentary: Amy

Vince Koehler Award for Best Science Fiction, Fantasy or Horror Film: Ex Machina

Media Appearances, Reviews

Back to Behind the Mikes

Another month, another Behind the Mikes. We discussed the new Hunger Games, Secret in Their Eyes, and more (we ramble a lot).

Also, we did a winter movie preview, so you can hear what we’re looking forward to here.


The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2 – Review

Got a new review in the Star this week, and it’s a big one! The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2